Ohio Politics

Our political team covers the goings on from the White House to the Statehouse.

Sen. Beagle wins Miami Co. GOP endorsement

State Sen. Bill Beagle was endorsed on Tuesday by the Miami County Republican Party in his bid for the 8th Congressional District seat vacated by former House Speaker John Boehner.

Beagle, R-Tipp City, is one of 15 Republicans, a Democrat and a Green Party candidate on the March 15 primary ballot.


"I am honored to receive the endorsement of the Miami County Republican party and am thankful for their continued confidence in me," Beagle said in a news release.  "It was the strong support of my home county that helped me oust our Democrat incumbent state senator back in 2010."

Miami County GOP chairman John W. "Bud" O'Brien said the party executive committee  heard from all the candidates who spoke at the meeting and 75% voted to endorse Beagle on the first ballot.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Dayton man reports finding unknown female dead in spare bedroom
  2. 2 TV Listings
  3. 3 Tesla CEO says company would consider buying close GM plants

“Bill Beagle’s stellar conservative record and leadership in Ohio’s State Senate shined through tonight and won the evening in impressive fashion," O'Brien said.

Along with Beagle Republicans in the race are: Matthew Ashworth of Liberty Twp., Warren Davidson of Troy, State Rep. Tim Derickson, R-Hanover Twp., Scott George of Monroe Twp. in Miami County, Eric Haemmerle of West Chester Twp., Terri King of Middletown, Joseph Matvey of West Chester Twp., Edward Meer of West Chester Twp., John Robbins of Monroe, Michael Smith of Germantown, James Spurlino of Washington Twp., Kevin White of New Carlisle, J.D. Winteregg of Troy, and George Wooley of Troy.

Democrat Corey Foister of Fairfield and Green Party candidate Jim Condit Jr. of Cincinnati are also running.

The 8th Congressional District covers all of Butler, Clark, Darke, Miami, and Preble, counties and part of Mercer County.

The March 15 ballot includes the special election primary, with the winners advancing to a special June 7 election to fill the remainder of Boehner's current term ending Jan. 3.

The March 15 ballot also includes a regular primary, and each party will send a candidate to the Nov. 8 General Election to compete for a full two-year term that begins on Jan. 3.

See our online Voter Guide for the race. We asked each candidate three questions and gathered biographical information on each.

See our 8th District Voter Guide at http://www.daytondailynews.com/voters-guide/2016/8th-congressional-district/The 8th District candidates are also in our larger southwest Ohio voter guide at http://vote.daytondailynews.com/build.do.



About the Author

More from Daytondailynews