Greene County residents petition to unseat state representative, county commissioner

Democrats and Republicans in Greene County have turned in signatures from voters to get on the May primary ballot in their efforts to retain public office or to unseat an incumbent.

Wednesday was the deadline to turn in petitions at the Greene County Board of Elections. Candidates whose petitions are certified by the elections board will appear on the May 8 ballot. 

STAY CONNECTED: Greene County News on Facebook

Ohio State Rep. Rick Perales (R-73rd District) is up for re-election and fellow Republican Jocelyn Smith of Fairborn has filed petitions to run against him for the Republican nomination in the May primary.

Perales is finishing out his third term as an Ohio representative.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Pike County murders: Relations between the Rhodens and Wagners
  2. 2 Who's in Jail | Latest Montgomery County Bookings
  3. 3 Capture ends search for county jail inmate who ran from work detail

The 73rd District includes the communities Bellbrook, Beavercreek, Fairborn and Yellow Springs.

Whoever gets the most votes in May will be the Republican party nominee to face Democrat Kim McCarthy, of Xenia, in the November election for the state representative seat.

TRENDING >> GWOC teams intend to leave Trotwood-Madison out, form new league

In the race for one seat on the county board of commissioners, incumbent Alan Anderson is being challenged by County Treasurer Dick Gould, of Xenia, for the Republican nomination.

Anderson is looking to be re-elected for a fourth term on commission.

If Gould wins the nomination and subsequently wins in November, he would resign his position as county treasurer at the end of the year and start as a commissioner in January 2019.

On the Democratic side, Susan Lopez, of Beavercreek, will face Steve Bujenovic, of Yellow Springs, in the May Primary.

The candidate from each party who emerges with the most votes in May will then go on to run for the commission seat in the November election.

The elections board meets at 4 p.m. Feb. 15, 551 Ledbetter Road, to certify the partisan candidates’ petitions.

Independent candidates have until May 7 to file petitions. Residents have until April 9 to register to vote. Early voting begins April 10. 

More from Daytondailynews