WHIO's Grimes, Hansgen and Hartsock make Dayton Broadcasters Hall of Fame

3 WHIO broadcasters inducted in hall of fame

Three WHIO television and radio broadcasters were inducted into the Dayton Area Broadcasters Hall of Fame at the 7th Biannual Induction Gala on Thursday evening at the Dayton Marriott.

Becky Grimes and Mike Hartsock of WHIO-TV and Larry Hansgen of WHIO Radio were among the Class of 2015 inductees.

Grimes is the executive producer of special projects, which includes prime-time specials for the CBS affiliate station, and leads a team of investigative reporters.

“Every day is different,” Grimes said. “I always meet interesting people and learn something new.”

While a senior at Otterbein University, she got her start in journalism as a radio news reporter at WFRD in Westerville. She joined WHIO in 1976 as a radio reporter, then began working primarily with TV in 1984.

“I can’t believe my bosses pay me to tell news stories everyday,” Grimes said. “It’s winning.”

Like Grimes, Hartsock started his career in radio. Hartsock became a reporter for WPFB in Middletown in 1977, after graduating from Eastern Kentucky University. He joined WHIO Radio in 1979, then moved to WHIO-TV as a news reporter/fill-in anchor in 1981. He started doing sports full time in 1982, and his first assignment was covering the Cincinnati Bengals in Super Bowl XVI.

“I guess you could say I inherited a passion for sports from my dad,” Hartsock said. “He was a better athlete that I was, but ever since I was young, I always talked a good game. For me there is nothing better than covering high school sports. Young people with virtually no chance to make a living playing a game, but competing like they were getting paid to play.”

Larry Hansgen has been the host of Miami Valley’s Morning News since 2003.

“I like broadcast news because it exists in the present,” he said. “I love talking about things and relating information live as it happens.”

He joined the staff of WHIO Radio in 1981 and quickly rose through the ranks, first as a board operator, then as an announcer and doing the morning sportscasts. He added covering the University of Dayton Flyers in 1982.

“I’m so proud to be here tonight and I’m so proud to live and work in this community,” Hansgen said.

The mission of the Dayton Area Broadcasters Hall of Fame is “to enshrine talented broadcasters in the Dayton area for their many years of service in the industry and for their dedication to the community,” according to the organization’s website.

Also joining the hall of fame were Jim Briggs, formerly of WING radio; Steve Diorio, formerly of WDTN-TV; and Michael Ecton of WDAO radio. Former U.S. Congressman Tony Hall was named recipient of the Hall of Fame’s community service award.

The broadcasters will be included on the Wall of Fame on the second floor southwest wall of the Dayton Convention Center.

WHIO-TV and WHIO Radio are part of Cox Media Group Ohio, which also includes Dayton Daily News.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.