Facebook is going to delete a secret group of your photos soon

ajc.com

Credit: AP Photo/Paul Sakuma, File

Remember when Facebook launched its syncing feature in 2012?

The feature allowed users to automatically upload photos to a private "Synced" or "Synced from Phone" folder in their Facebook photo section.

Users might have forgotten, or never even knew the section was there but soon it, and any of the photos in that folder will be deleted.

>> Read more trending stories

Facebook is encouraging use of its photo-sharing app Moments and is deleting photos in the synced folders unless the user downloads Moments and logs into the app to transfer them before July 7, according to TechCrunch.

 Users who don't want to use Moments but want to save those images can download them to their computer, according to CNN.