Greta Thunberg is Time’s Person of the Year

Time's Person of the Year was announced Wednesday. The annual honor goes to Greta Thunberg this year.

The shortlist was announced Tuesday morning, the "Today" show reported.

In the running were:

  • House Speaker Nancy Pelosi
  • President Donald Trump
  • The Whistleblower
  • Hong Kong Protestors
  • Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg
  • Chinese President Xi Jinping
  • U.S. women's soccer star Megan Rapinoe
  • Rudy Giuliani
  • New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern

A few on the list had been named Person of the Year in the past, according to Fox News. Trump was given the honor in 2016 when he won the election and was named to the finalist lists in 2015, 2017 and 2019. Giuliani was the Person of the Year in 2001. Zuckerberg was a finalist in 2010.

In addition to Thunberg, Time announced the person of the year in other categories.

For entertainment, editors chose Lizzo to represent as Entertainer of the Year.

The Guardians of the Year are the Public Servants.

Athlete of the Year honor went to the U.S. Women's Soccer Team.

Businessperson of the Year is Disney CEO Bob Iger.

About the Author