Alter’s Howe opts for Wisconsin

Alter High School senior Kraig Howe will follow new University of Wisconsin head football coach Paul Chryst to Madison.

A 6-foot-3, 259-pound defensive tackle, Howe originally had verbally committed to Pittsburgh, where Chryst was the head coach from 2012-14. After Chryst was named to succeed Gary Andersen as head coach of the Badgers, Howe decommitted to Pitt.

Howe verbally committed to Wisconsin during an official visit to the Madison campus this past weekend.

“I bought into their philosophy and who they wanted on the team, the type of character,” he said on Monday after basketball practice. “They wanted the combination of a student-athlete. When the opportunity opened for me at Wisconsin, it was too much for me to pass up.”

Howe said the Badgers’ staff envisions him playing defensive end in their 3-4 scheme. “It’s a great spot for me,” he said.

Howe teamed with Alter senior Dean Lemon to anchor the Knights’ defensive line. Alter (14-1) lost 21-14 to Cleveland Benedictine in the Division IV state championship.

Howe was first team All-Ohio and was the co-defensive player of the year with Benedictine’s Jerome Baker, who’s committed to Ohio State. Howe also had offers from Minnesota, Illinois and Northwestern of the Big Ten.

Other Alter grads to play at Wisconsin were linebacker Chris Borland (49ers) and receiver Connor Cummins. Alter senior Nick Coleman is committed to Notre Dame, where he’ll likely play corner. Another senior, kicker Alex Craft, is hoping to be accepted by the U.S. Air Force Academy. Lemon remains uncommitted.

Remaining at Pitt are brothers Nicholas Grigsby and Bam Bradley (Trotwood-Madison), Adam Bertke (Marion Local) and Carson Baker (Fairborn). Area players at Wisconsin are Josh Harrison (Wayne) and A.J. Jordan (Trotwood).

National signing day for football is Feb. 4.

  • Chaminade Julienne recently inducted seven new members into its athletic hall of fame. New members are: Anthony Turner (Class of 2004), football and basketball; Joe Walton (’04) wrestling; Chad Garman (’03), soccer; Nicole Muzechuk (’03), tennis; James Hill (’00), football; Mark Holton (1991), basketball; and special inductee Ed Marrinan (’71).

The new members will be recognized during halftime of Saturday’s home boys basketball game against Carroll, which starts at 3 p.m. They also will be honored at a dinner and awards program at CJ afterward.

  • Dixie will induct two new members into its athletic hall of fame this week: Megan Miller-Kummer (Class of 2004), volleyball, basketball and softball; and Darin Powers (’82), cross country and track.

An induction ceremony will take place at 7 p.m. Saturday at the high school prior to a varsity boys basketball game against National Trail.

  • Carlisle recently inducted its second athletic hall of fame class. New members are: Jennifer Parr (Class of 1997), basketball; Sam Franks (’67), football and baseball; Mike Ledford (’59), football, basketball, baseball and track; Tony Herold (’58), football, basketball, baseball and track; and Charles “Bud” Chamberlain (’32), basketball. Franks also was a longtime Carlisle varsity baseball coach and athletic director.
  • West Carrollton alum Terry Adsit (1964 grad) has been inducted into the Ashland University athletic hall of fame. A pitcher, Adsit was a four-year letterman for the Eagles. His career record was 13-3 with an ERA of 1.51.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.