Alabama DL Da’Shawn Hand injured during 3rd quarter vs. Ole Miss

With the Crimson Tide up 45-3 in the third quarter, it is probably fair to wonder why so many Alabama starters were still in the game.

In light of what happened to star defensive lineman Da’Shawn Hand in the third quarter, head coach Nick Saban may well have some regrets about leaving some of his most important players on the field with the game so out of hand.

About midway through the 3rd quarter, Hand went down with what appeared to be a knee injury after being on the receiving end of a chop block. According to SEC Country’s Marq Burnett, Hand had to be carted off the field before being carted to the locker room:

For the time being, Alabama fans will simply have to hope that the injury is not as bad as it looked on first glance.

In the meantime, it is also fair to wonder why the type of block that injured Hand remains a legal part of the game. After seeing Hand’s injury, SEC Network’s Marcus Spears had that exact thought:

This is definitely something the NCAA rules committee will have to look at in the near future, especially if additional injuries from chop blocks occur throughout the season.

The post Alabama DL Da’Shawn Hand injured during 3rd quarter vs. Ole Miss appeared first on SEC Country.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.