CBS Sports explains why Florida State wasn’t assessed technical foul for premature celebration

florida state-florida state celebration-florida state xaiver-florida state
            ncaa tournament-florida state seminoles-florida state ncaa tournament celebration

There were several shocking results from the first weekend of the 2018 NCAA Tournament. On Sunday alone, the tournament saw a No. 1 seed, a pair of No. 2 seeds and a No. 3 seed fall. The celebrations were crazy in all of these upsets, but in Florida State’s case, the Seminoles started a little too early.

With a few seconds left, a couple Florida State bench players began leaving the sidelines to begin celebrating. No. 1 seed Xavier trailed by five, but many fans were calling for a technical foul to be assessed to the Seminoles bench, which would have extended the game.

Here’s a video of the celebration:

Even in a two possession game, a technical foul would have given the Musketeers hope. Xavier could have hypothetically hit the two foul shots and then a 3-pointer in the waning seconds to force overtime.

But CBS Sports explained Monday using the official NCAA rulebook why the officials were correct to not call a technical foul.

Delay/Penalty. (Rule 4-10.2). When a second warning for a delay is given for a delay which is different from the first delay, a technical foul shall be assessed for any further delays.

Florida State had yet to receive a delay of game warning, so it would have been incorrect to hand the Seminoles a technical foul for a couple players leaving the bench. CBS Sports also argued that according to the rulebook, this action wouldn’t even count as a delay of game.

Delaying the game by preventing the ball from being promptly made live or by preventing continuous play, such as but not limited to, followers or bench personnel entering the playing court before player activity has been terminated. When the delay does not interfere with play, it shall be ignored, and play shall be continued or be resumed at the point of interruption (See Rule 10-2.8.d and Rule 10-4.2.h).

The post CBS Sports explains why Florida State wasn’t assessed technical foul for premature celebration appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.

X