ESPN ranks 2007-08 Kansas Jayhawks as ‘dominant’ team of last 20 years

Bring up the 2007-08 Kansas Jayhawks, and the first thing most people will think of is the Mario Chalmers shot to send the national championship game to overtime.

That’s perfectly fair. Chalmers’ three to tie Memphis is legendary, one of the most clutch shots in college basketball history. Here, watch it again, just for kicks:

It’s still fun.

But it’s easy to forget just how good that Kansas team was all year. The Jayhawks never fell below No. 6 in the AP Poll and finished with a 37-3 record. Brandon Rush and Darrell Arthur both made First Team All-Big 12, while Chalmers made the second team. That year was the first time in history that all 1-seeds made the Final Four, and Kansas put a whooping on North Carolina in the semifinal before winning the title against Memphis.

So it makes sense that ESPN, which ranked the 20 most dominant teams of the last 20 years, would include those Jayhawks on its list. Kansas comes in at No. 19, one of two men’s college basketball teams in the ranking.

“Remembered today mostly for a Mario Chalmers 3-pointer that forced overtime in the NCAA championship game against Memphis, the Jayhawks were better than that one shining moment,” ESPN’s Peter Keating wrote. “They went 37-3, with their three losses coming by a combined 13 points. They outscored opponents by 35.2 points per 100 possessions after adjusting for strength of schedule, the second-largest margin of the past 20 years (behind that of Kentucky in 2015).”

That’s still the most recent national championship Kansas has won, although the Jayhawks are a 1-seed yet again in this year’s tournament.

The post ESPN ranks 2007-08 Kansas Jayhawks as ‘dominant’ team of last 20 years appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.