Iowa unveils spring football depth chart

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Iowa’s football team unveiled its spring depth chart Tuesday, and as expected, there are multiple changes on the Hawkeyes’ two-deep.

Gone are linebackers Josey Jewell, Ben Niemann and Bo Bower and their combined 120-plus starts. Same with four-year starting guard Sean Welsh, longtime wide receiver Matt VandeBerg and back-to-back 1,000-yard rusher Akrum Wadley. Cornerback Josh Jackson and center James Daniels are headed in the NFL as likely first-round draft picks. Three-year starters Miles Taylor at safety and defensive tackle Nathan Bazata also exit.

Meanwhile, listed as starters for the second straight season are quarterback Nate Stanley, offensive lineman Tristan Wirfs, defensive end Anthony Nelson and tight end Noah Fant. As expected, there are plenty of lineup changes, from younger players entering the starting lineup to veterans changing positions.

Here is the depth chart Iowa announced on the eve of spring football practice:

The post Iowa unveils spring football depth chart appeared first on Land of 10.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.