Washington’s Mike Hopkins wins NABC Coach of the Year

Washington Huskies basketball coach Mike Hopkins has been named National Association of Basketball Coaches District 20 Coach of the Year, the  NABC announced on Wednesday.

The award is the second coach of the year honor for Hopkins. He was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year earlier this month.

Hopkins led Washington to a 21-13 record in his first season in Seattle. It was the 29th 20-win season in the program’s history.

The Huskies showed a dramatic improvement from last year’s 9-22 record. On the court, Washington was led by All-Pac-12 first-team member Noah Dickerson and Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year Matisse Thybulle.

The post Washington’s Mike Hopkins wins NABC Coach of the Year appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.