HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL COUNTDOWN: MILTON-UNION

High school: Milton-Union Bulldogs

Division / region: D-V, Region 18

League / conference: Southwestern Buckeye League, Buckeye Division.

Head coach: Mark Lane, second season at Milton; 2-8 career record.

Assistant coaches: Tim Antonides, Larry Thoele, Dana Dickison, Brett Kopp and Chad Gostomsky.

2013 record: Conference 2-5 SWBL Buckeye; 2-8 overall.

2013 highlights / notable achievements: Won two of last three games, defeating Dixie (28-13) and Northridge (37-12); lost by a combined five points to 10-2 Miami East in opener (18-14) and Oakwood (27-26) in Week 2; also dropped shootouts to Madison (40-31) in Week 5 and Preble Shawnee (54-34) in Week 7; dropped Bellbrook (4-6) and picked up Brookville (5-5) in Week 7 of the SWBL schedule rotation.

Key returners:

Andrew Lynn, 6-4, 240, sr., OL/DL

Quentin Weiss, 5-9, 185, sr.

Coach’s comments: “We are a young team, with a lot of young men hungry for varsity experience. We have challenged each other as a team to earn everything we get. Our young men are focused on coming together as a team and challenging each other every day to improve. I have never been so excited to coach a group of young men as I am this year.”

Schedule:

Fri., Aug. 29 Miami East, 7 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 5 Oakwood, 7 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 12 at Tippecanoe, 7 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 19 at Northridge, 7 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 26 at Preble Shawnee, 7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 3 Madison, 7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 10 at Brookville, 7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 17 at Carlisle, 7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 24 Dixie, 7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 31 Waynesville, 7 p.m.

Coming Saturday: Franklin Wildcats

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.

X