Monroe’s Dote Racing names world champ to pilot top fuel dragster

Dote Racing, the NHRA Top Fuel dragster team based in Monroe, announced three-time world champion Larry Dixon will pilot the team’s ride for three of the final six races of the season.

Dixon makes his Dote debut this weekend at the O’Reilly Auto Parts Nationals in Charlotte, N.C.

Dixon, whose 62 Top Fuel wins rank second all-time, replaces Hillary Will.

“We are thrilled to partner with a driver of Larry’s caliber for the remainder of our scheduled races,” Connie Dote, co-owner of Dote Racing, said on the team’s website. “Larry is one of the best drivers of all-time, and we couldn’t be more excited to combine his talents with our car’s improving performance.”

Dixon raced for Al-Anabi Racing in 2011 and is working on putting his own team together for next season.

“I’m really happy the Dotes offered me this chance to drive their car,” Dixon said. “It’ll be fun to get out there and duke it out with everyone again. I’ve been working hard at putting my own team together, and I know the Dotes are looking at what their next move will be in 2013. In the meantime, I’m happy to sub in for them.”

Germantown native Doug Kuch serves as Dote Racing’s crew chief. He’s helped the team qualify for all seven of its event appearances this season and reached the semifinals in Chicago on July 1.

Local action heats up: Kil-Kare Dragway hosts the Street Life Tour — a grassroots tour promoting drifting and drag racing in a safe environment and not on the street — as the regular weekend racers travel to Indianapolis, where Lucas Oil Raceway hosts the North Central Division (Div. 3) finals in the NHRA Summit Racing Series today through Sunday.

The Street Life Tour event also features live music and vendors as part of its entertainment. For more info, visit

Track champions crowned: Kil-Kare Raceway officially announced its track champions with honors to Dick Dunlevy (late models), Ryan Fleming (modifieds), Tyler Mahaffey (sport stocks) and Bo Hoelscher (compacts). Waynesfield Raceway Park also closed out its points season with the following champions crowned: Shawn Valenti and Jeff Koz (stocks), Kyle Simon (nonwing sprints), Chris Hicks (trucks), Justin Durflinger (compacts), Nick Daugherty (mini sprints) and Zach Schroeder (modifieds).

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.