WSU unanimous pick to win HL baseball title

The Wright State baseball team is the unanimous choice to win the Horizon League title this season, garnering all six first-place votes in the preseason coaches poll, which was released Wednesday.

WSU returns four all-league players from last year’s team, which fell one game short of winning a third consecutive regular-season title.

Follow Jay Morrison on Twitter

Among the top returners for the Raiders are reigning Horizon League Freshman of the Year, starting pitcher Ryan Weiss, along with fellow first team all-league selection Matt Morrow (second base).

Redshirt senior relief pitcher Derek Hendrixson and sophomore third baseman Seth Gray, both of whom earned second team all-league accolades in 2017, also return for WSU, which went 38-21 overall and 21-9 in the HL last year in Jeff Mercer’s first season as coach.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Marty Brennaman, baseball Hall of Famer, to retire after 2019 season
  2. 2 Wintry weather, including snow, arriving Thursday
  3. 3 PUCO to weigh new solar farm: Dayton Business

›› Wright State basketball aiming for season sweep of Green Bay

Defending champ Illinois-Chicago is picked second with 29 poll points to WSU’s 36. Wisconsin-Milwaukee is third (20), followed by Northern Kentucky (19), Oakland (14) and Youngstown State (8).

The Raiders open the season Friday, Feb. 16, at Tulane.

More from Daytondailynews