College president pay: Who are Ohio’s highest paid?

The list of highest paid presidents at public colleges is in.

In its annual report, The Chronicle of Higher Education lists the top paid college presidents for the 2015 to 2016 academic year in the U.S. and by state.

Ohio State University president Michael Drake tops the list as the highest compensated president in Ohio, making $1.03 million.

JOB PERKS: Wright State bonus package revealed for new president

He is also the seventh highest paid college president in the country while Arizona State University president Michael Crow is the highest paid nationwide, raking in more than $1.5 million in total compensation.

Several Ohio college presidents have retired over the last year so some names on the top 10 list, including former Wright State University president David Hopkins, no longer lead their institutions. Hopkins resigned in March, Santa Ono has since left the University of Cincinnati and Roderick McDavis left Ohio University.

Below is a top 10 ranking of Ohio’s public college presidents by total compensation:

1. Michael Drake

Ohio State University

$1.03 million

2. Santa J. Ono

University of Cincinnati


RELATED: Bonus potential for presidents part of a growing trend in higher education

3. David C. Hodge

Miami University


4. Roderick J McDavis

Ohio University


5. Ronald M Berkman

Cleveland State University


6. Beverly J. Warren

Kent State University


RELATED: Wright State goes tobacco free, banning use of cigarettes and other products

7. David R. Hopkins

Wright State University


8. Scott Scarborough

University of Akron


9. Sharon L. Gaber

University of Toledo


10. Mary Ellen Mazey

Bowling Green State University


About the Author