Wright State University Foundation names 6 new trustees

A dermatologist with a private practice, the founder of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize and a prominent businessman are among the six new trustees on the Wright State University Foundation’s board.

“We are honored to welcome these outstanding business and community leaders from the Dayton region and beyond,” Scott Rash, president and CEO of the Wright State University Foundation stated in a release. “We appreciate their willingness to volunteer their time and talents to the Wright State University Foundation Board of Trustees. They will provide outstanding service to the foundation, the university and our students.”

The new trustees’ appointment is effective July 1. They are:

Dr. Samia Borchers, a dermatologist with a solo private practice and member of the Wright State University Medical School charter class of 1980. She is past president of the Montgomery County Medical Society and Ohio Dermatology Association and has been awarded Dermatologist of the Year in Ohio. She is a past chair of the Wright State University Academy of Medicine, a board member of the Discover Classical public radio station and has established an endowed scholarship for students in the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Lauren Macgregor is a graduate student in WSU's student affairs in higher education program. She is one of two students serving on the foundation board of trustees.

Gary McCullough, a private investor is a 1981 Wright State graduate. For more than 30 years, he has served in executive and board position with leading companies including TransDigm Group Inc., The Sherwin Williams Company, Career Education Corp., Abbott Laboratories, the Wm. Wrigley Jr. company and Procter & Gamble.

Hernan Olivas is CEO and president of O'Neil & Associates and serves on the Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce board and the board of advisers for the WSU College of Engineering and Computer Science.

Randy Phillips is a senior vice president at Leidos Inc. He is a 1982 WSU grad and has held executive roles at Boeing Company, TASC, Computer Sciences Corp., Alcoa and Ellucian.

Sharon Honaker Rab taught English for a combined 47 years at Kettering Fairmont High School, Miami University and the University of Dayton. She earned a master's of education from Wright State in 1975 and founded the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, the only literary prize honoring the power of literature to promote peace in the country.

The foundation board also will bid farewell to three trustees whose terms end June 30: Sonja Wolf, an MBA student who recently graduated; Stephen Hightower, president and CEO of Hightower Petroleum; and Barbara Duncombe, a partner at Taft Stettinius & Hollister.

About the Author