Republican Tom Young announces run for local state House district

Tom Young
Tom Young

Republican Tom Young announced Tuesday he is running for the 42nd District seat in the Ohio House of Representatives in 2020.

The district includes Washington Township, Miamisburg, West Carrollton, Moraine, and Germantown, and includes portions of Centerville, Kettering, and Springboro.

Young is a member of the Montgomery County Board of Elections and said he will resign that post before he officially files to run in December.

Current state Rep. Niraj Antani, R-Miamisburg, is running for the 6th District Ohio Senate seat next year. State Sen. Peggy Lehner, R-Kettering, is leaving office due to term limits.

“Throughout my life, I have dedicated myself to public service in our community. I am ready to continue that public service at the state level,” Young said. “I am invested in our community and the tremendous people who live here. I will continue to do whatever I can to make a positive and meaningful difference on the issues that matter most to my fellow citizens.”

Antani and state Rep. Phil Plummer, chair of the Montgomery County Republican Party, are supporting Young’s run.

“I couldn’t be more pleased that Tom has made the decision to run for the Ohio House. I have known Tom for 20 years and I can tell you that I can think of no one who is better equipped to take on this responsibility,” Plummer said.

Montgomery County Democratic Party Chairman Mark Owens says the party plans to run a candidate in the race, but doesn’t know yet who that will be.

“We are talking to a couple of people,” Owens said. “We believe that we will have viable candidates in all of the state House and Senate districts. They will vigorously run on the issues that affect all Ohioans.”

Explore RELATED: Democrat announces run in competitive Dayton-area district

Young previously served on the Wright State University board of trustees and was a founding board member of Dayton School & Business Technology. He also chaired Campfire Boys & Girls and was on the Dayton Peace Accords Board.