Beyonce unveils tracklist for 'Lion King' companion album 'The Gift'

Beyonce has revealed the tracklist for the companion album she curated and executive produced ahead of the release of Disney's "The Lion King" remake.

"The Lion King: The Gift," includes all-new songs from artists across multiple genres, including songs inspired by the film and songs in the 2019 CGI version.

>> Read more trending news

series of posts on the singer's official website show Beyonce is on multiple tracks on the album, including the single "Spirit." Other musicians on the album include Nigerian singer Yemi Alade, South African singers Busiswa and Moonchild Sanelly, Jay-Z, Beyonce and Jay-Z's daughter Blue Ivy Carter, Pharrell, Kendrick Lamar, Childish Gambino -- the musician alter ego of Donald Glover, who voices Simba in the film.

"This is sonic cinema," Beyonce said in a news release about the album. "This is a new experience of storytelling. I wanted to do more than find a collection of songs that were inspired by the film. It is a mixture of genres and collaboration that isn't one sound. It is influenced by everything from R&B, pop, hip hop and Afro Beat.

>> PHOTOS: Beyonce through the years

"I wanted to put everyone on their own journey to link the storyline," she said. "Each song was written to reflect the film's storytelling that gives the listener a chance to imagine their own imagery, while listening to a new contemporary interpretation. It was important that the music was not only performed by the most interesting and talented artists but also produced by the best African producers. Authenticity and heart were important to me."

"Spirt" was released last week. The music video for the single was filmed at Havasu Falls in the Havasupai Reservation in Arizona, and will premiere Tuesday night at 8 p.m. on an ABC TV special called "The Lion King: Can You Feel The Love Tonight with Robin Roberts."

"The Lion King: The Gift" will be released Friday, the day the film is released. Variety reported that primary "The Lion King" original motion picture soundtrack is out now.

  1. "Bigger" by Beyonce
  2. "Find Your Way Back (Circle of Life)" by Beyonce
  3. "Don't Jealous Me" by Tekno, Yemi Alade and Mr. Eazi
  4. "Ja Ara E" by Burna Boy
  5. "The Nile" by Beyonce and Kendrick Lamar
  6. "Mood 4 Eva" by Beyonce, Jay-Z and Childish Gambino
  7. "Water" by Salatiel, Pharrell and Beyonce
  8. "Brown Skin Girl" by Blue Ivy Carter, SAINt JHN, WizKid, Beyonce
  9. "Keys to the Kingdom" by Tiwa Savage and Mr. Eazi
  10. "Otherside" by Beyonce
  11. "Already" by Beyonce and Shatta Wale:
  12. "My Power" by Tierra Whack, Beyonce, Busiswa, Yemi Alade and Moonchild Sanelly
  13. "Scar" by 070 Shake and Jessie Reyez
  14. "Spirit" by Beyonce

About the Author