Names for 2019 Hurricanes Announced

What will 2019 hurricanes be named?

The official start of hurricane season is still weeks away, but we know what the storms will be named once they reach official hurricane status. 

The 2019 list includes, according to the National Hurricane Center:

  • Andrea
  • Barry
  • Chantal
  • Dorian
  • Erin
  • Fernand
  • Gabrielle
  • Humberto
  • Imelda
  • Jerry
  • Karen
  • Lorenzo
  • Melissa
  • Nestor
  • Olga
  • Pablo
  • Rebekah
  • Sebastien
  • Tanya
  • Van
  • Wendy

The names may sound familiar. They’re actually recycled every six years, unless the storm is so deadly or destructive, it would be insensitive to reuse it, then it is replaced, according to NOAA.

>> Read more trending news 

In this NASA handout image taken by Astronaut Ricky Arnold, Hurricane Florence gains strength in the Atlantic Ocean as it moves west, seen from the International Space Station on September 10, 2018.
Photo: NASA via Getty Images

Some of the names that have been retired over recent years have been Harvey, Irma, Maria, Sandy, Irene and Katrina.

That means these same names, unless they’re retired, will be reused in 2024.

If there would be more than 21 named storms in a season, the naming would be switched over to the Greek alphabet, starting with Alpha, Beta, Gamma and so on.

As for 2020, the list includes, Cristobal, Nana and Wilfred.

Hurricane season officially begins on June 1 and ends Nov. 30.

A hurricane is when maximum sustained winds reach 74 mph or higher. A major hurricane, or Category 3 and above, happens when sustained winds are at 111 mph or more, according to the National Hurricane Center.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.