8 squeakers in Tuesday’s election that prove your vote counts in close races

Clayton Mayor Joyce Deitering and Mayor-elect Mike Stevens.

Combined ShapeCaption
Clayton Mayor Joyce Deitering and Mayor-elect Mike Stevens.

Some local races and issues in Tuesday’s election were separated by only a few dozen votes.

Here’s a look at seven races that were some of the closest of the night.


» State Issue 2 fails big

Clayton mayor: Clayton Mayor Joyce Deitering lost re-election by 31 votes. Mike Stevens will be the new mayor.

Brookville council: Brookville had three seats up for council and the race for the third seat is at a difference of 12 votes between Curt Schreier and Jerri Letner.

Huber Heights council: Andrew Hill beat Carl Urbanas by 13 votes in a narrow Ward 4 race.

» ‘Soul searching’ in Huber Heights after major victories

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Combined ShapeCaption
Highlights and important notes from election night 2017 in southwest Ohio.

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Perry Twp. levy: Perry Twp. in northern Montgomery County's attempt to pass an additional levy for police failed by just 8 votes.

Franklin council: The race for the third seat on Franklin Council is a close one. Matt Wilcher is leading Carl Bray, 845-833, a difference of just 12 votes.

Franklin school board: The third spot on the school board is a close race with Bob Knipper getting 1,360 votes to 1,346 for Dennis Dwyer.

Wayne Local Schools: The Wayne Local Schools levy in Waynesville had only one vote difference in Warren County – 1,226-1,225. The district bleeds over a bit into Greene County and there the vote was 11-10 for the levy. Meaning the levy passed by two votes

Deerfield Twp. trustee: The race for township trustee could be headed for a recount. Lonnie Vestal has 19.87% to Bill Lantry's 19.57%. Only 35 votes separate them out of more than 11,000 cast.

About the Authors