Helmets would be required for bikers under 16

0

breaking news

Ramps from Eastbound U.S. 35 to North and South I-75 closed due to fatal crash

Helmets would be required for bikers under 16

View CaptionHide Caption
Helmets would be required for bikers under 16

Bike riders under age 16 would be required to wear proper-fitting helmets or their parents could face fines of up to $100, under a bill sponsored by state Sen. Shannon Jones, R-Clearcreek Twp.

The child safety legislation aims to reduce traumatic brain injuries suffered by children and the related health care expenses, said Jones. She called it a “smart investment,” citing a statistic that a $10 helmet can save $41 per child in health care costs.

Jones, who has long advocated for child safety laws, acknowledged that a mandatory bike helmet law will meet opposition from lawmakers who believe such decisions should be left up to parents.

“I suspect it’ll be a long education process but I think the facts are on our side,” said Jones, who authored Ohio’s law requiring children ages 4- to 8-years-old to ride in car booster seats that took effect in April 2010.

While 70 percent of children ages 5 to 14 ride bikes, just 10 to 20 percent wear helmets and across the country each year 50,000 children are seen in emergency rooms for serious injuries incurred while riding a bike without a helmet, Jones said.

Ohio cities including Kettering, Dayton, Waynesville and Centerville have local bike helmet ordinances on the books and 22 states have statewide helmet laws, according to Helmet.org, a bicycle safety advocacy group. The American Academy of Pediatrics reports that bicycle-related head injury rates among kids dropped up to 45 percent following adoption of bike helmet laws in other states.

Jones’ bike helmet bill calls for:

Children under age 16 biking on roads, paths, parkland or sidewalks would be required to wear an approved helmet that is a good fit and fastened securely. The regulations would apply to bike passengers under 16;

Bike rental shops would be required to explain the regulations and provide helmets for customers under 16 — self-service kiosks are exempt;

Guardians of violators can be fined up to $25 on the first offense and up to $100 on subsequent offenses;

Courts may waive the fines with proof that the offender obtained a helmet and intends to use it; and

Collected fines will go to a bicycle safety fund, which will use some of the money to purchase and distribute helmets to low-income families.

View Comments 0

Weather and Traffic