88th Air Base Wing personnel earn honors

Commander praises ‘extraordinary’ performance of individuals, units

Credit: 88th Air Base Wing/Public Affair

Credit: 88th Air Base Wing/Public Affair

Members of the 88th Air Base Wing captured several Air Force Materiel Command and Air Force Life Cycle Management Center awards for 2020, while Wright-Patterson Air Force Base civil engineers finished second for a prestigious Air Force honor.

“I continue to be amazed by the extraordinary men and women I have the privilege to serve,” said Col. Patrick Miller, 88 ABW commander.

AFMC winners from each category will now go on to compete at the Air Force level. Here’s a rundown of recent wing honorees:

Air Force runner-up

Brigadier General Archie S. Mayes Award (Best Engineering Division/Flight) – 88th Civil Engineer Group

AFMC winners:

Judge Advocate General awards

Albert M. Kuhfeld Award for Outstanding Young Judge Advocate of the Year – Maj. Megan Ortner, Office of the Staff Judge Advocate

Manpower, Personnel and Services awards

Solomon Starks Jr. Equal Opportunity Professional of the Year – Tech. Sgt. Jonathan Graham III, Equal Opportunity Office

Force Support Senior NCO of the Year – Senior Master Sgt. Lonnie Locklear, 88th Force Support Squadron

Civilian Technician of the Year – Amayrani Smith, 88 FSS

Civilian Technician Supervisor of the Year – Phyllis Adams, 88 FSS

Civilian Supervisor of the Year – Janelle Bailey, 88 FSS

Manpower Flight – 88 FSS

Military Personnel Flight – 88 FSS

Force Development Flight – 88 FSS

2020 media awards

Layout and Design – David Clingerman, Public Affairs Office

Portrait – Richard Oriez, PAO

Video Documentation (B-roll) – Ryan Law, PAO

Multimedia Product – Christopher Decker, PAO

Video Spot – Christopher Decker, PAO

Video Story – Christopher Decker, PAO

Civilian Videographer of the Year – Christopher Decker, PAO

New Videographer of the Year – Airman 1st Class Jack Gardner, PAO

Short-form Production Video – 88th Air Base Wing Public Affairs

Long-form Production Video – 88th Air Base Wing Public Affairs

AFLCMC winners

American Legion Spirit Award – Senior Airman Anthony Pradia, 88th Security Forces Squadron

Large Team of the Year – Pharmacy Team, 88th Diagnostics and Therapeutics Squadron

First Sergeant of the Year – Senior Master Sgt. Benjamin Seekell, 88th Health Care Operations Squadron

Category II Civilian of the Year – Dale Guinther, 88 HCOS

Category III Civilian of the Year – Dr. Christina Bowman, 88 DTS

Airman of the Year – Staff Sgt. Valerie Graw, 88th Communications Squadron

Miller praised 88 ABW supervisors for recognizing the “outstanding” team and individual work performances and encouraged all personnel to “keep crushing it” in 2021.

About the Author