Inducted into the National Aviation Hall of Fame in 2018 were Col. R. Walter “Walt” Cunningham, USMC (Ret.), Korean War veteran, fighter pilot and Apollo astronaut; Gen. John R. “Jack” Dailey, USMC (Ret.), Vietnam veteran, fighter pilot, Marine Corps, NASA and NASM leader; the late William “Bill” Dana, NASA pioneer, engineer and test pilot; and Gen. Ronald R. “Ron” Fogleman, USAF (Ret.), Vietnam veteran, fighter pilot and Air Force Leader. CONTRIBUTED

Air Force Museum to host reception with aviation pioneers

Since 1962, the National Aviation Hall of Fame has inducted 245 of America’s air and space pioneers — individuals who have uniquely contributed to America’s rich legacy of aviation achievement. Their prestigious ranks include aviation legends from pioneers like the Wright brothers and Bessie Coleman to astronauts like Joe Engle and Neil Armstrong.

Two years after its founding as an Ohio not-for-profit corporation in Dayton, Congress chartered the organization in 1964 as a nationally designated entity. It reports annually to Congress but receives no local, state or federal funding. Its support comes mainly from tax-deductible membership dues and contributions from individuals and organizations.

The NAHF, co-located with the National Museum of the U. S. Air Force, is committed to informing the public of American aviation heroes, their accomplishments and their impact on advances in aviation from early flight to space travel.

The hall of fame’s premier annual event draws a “who’s who” of aerospace greats. Its 2019 enshrinement is to be held in Denver, Colo.; in 2020, it’s to return to the Birthplace of Aviation. Visit for more information.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.