From left to right: John Dement, Federal Laboratory Consortium president; Abby Boggs, Air Force technology transfer specialist; Kristen Schario, Aerospace Systems Directorate Technology Transfer manager; Adam Brand, Aerospace Systems scientist and inventor; and Sean Patton, TechLink Technology Transfer specialist. (Courtesy photo/FLC)

Air Force receives excellence in technology transfer awards

The Air Force Research Laboratory received four Excellence in Technology Transfer awards from the Federal Laboratory Consortium for technology transfer.

Each year the organization hosts an annual meeting that includes awards that recognizes federal laboratories and their industry partners for outstanding technology transfer achievements. The Excellence in Technology Transfer awards recognize employees of FLC member laboratories and non-laboratory staff who have accomplished outstanding work in the process of transferring federally developed technology.

This year AFRL received four Excellence in Technology Transfer awards for patent licensing agreements. The winning efforts include:

• Aerospace Systems Directorate’s patent license agreement with DSS Propulsion for the Green Propellant;

• Information Directorate’s multiple patent licenses for Android-based Team Awareness Kit;

• Space Vehicles Directorate’s patent license agreement with Roccor LLC for High Strain Composites for Spacecraft Deployable Structures;

• Space Vehicles Directorate’s transition of the Oscillating Heat Pipes for High Power Electronics Thermal Management technology to major Air Force contractors.

The awards were presented at the annual FLC meeting, which was held in Philadelphia.

“Recently, the Air Force Technology Transfer program has focused on increasing the amount of patent licensing agreements put in place,” said Abby Boggs, a technology transfer specialist in the Air Force Technology Transfer Program office. “These awards are reflective of that effort across the program.”

The FLC was organized in 1974 and formally chartered by the Federal Technology Transfer Act of 1986 to promote and strengthen technology transfer nationwide. Today, more than 300 federal laboratories, facilities and research centers and their parent agencies make up the FLC community. Members of the FLC community include world-renowned scientists, engineers, inventors, entrepreneurs, academia, laboratory personnel and T2 professionals.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.