Area students earn academic achievement scholarships

The Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Educational Fund held its 33rd annual awards ceremony June 28 at Tec^Edge ICC in Riverside, Ohio. Dr. Vincent Russo served as master of ceremonies, and Patricia Young, executive director, Air Force Materiel Command, presented the keynote speech.


The WPAFB Educational Fund provides academic achievement scholarships to children and grandchildren of currently employed Wright-Patterson AFB civilian and military personnel. Students must be graduating high school seniors who will pursue a college degree in the fall.

Nine students were each awarded a $1,000 academic achievement scholarship:

• Camille Butkus

• Diana Dinh

• Sarah John

• Megan Kafka

• Owen O’Conner

• Paul Rosenberger

• Katherine Slonaker

• Hannah Stumpfl

• Kristina White

The WPAFB Educational Fund was founded by Nathan and Irma Rosengarten in 1985. Since its inception, the fund has awarded 947 scholarships valued at more than $865,000. All of the award money comes from contributions to the Combined Federal Campaign and private donations.

For more information on the WPAFB Educational Fund, contact the WPAFB Educational Outreach Office at 937-656-2273.

About the Author