Candidates selected for 2018 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame class

(Metro News Service graphic)
(Metro News Service graphic)

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services has announced the members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2018.


These 20 inductees will be honored for their accomplishments and achievements at the 26th annual induction ceremony in November for their post-military service. This class of candidates represents 13 Ohio counties and four military branches.

The 2018 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame inductees are:

• Fredric L. Abrams, Air Force, Warren County

• Ronald L. Albers, Air Force, Franklin County

• Cassie B. Barlow, Air Force, Greene County

• *Francis Leroy Clendenen, Army, Licking County

• Orvil D. Cooper, Army, Lawrence County

• Haraz N. Ghanbari, Army, Navy, Wood County

• James L. Gibson, Navy, Guernsey County

• Paul D. Haller, Navy, Jackson County

• Ronald J. Hartman, Army, Clermont County

• Joseph A. Machado, Army, Fairfield County

• Robert P. Milich, Air Force, Mahoning County

• *Charles L. Murray, Army, Franklin County

• Merle J. Pratt, Navy, Franklin County

• Fredrick L. Pumroy, Air Force, Greene County

• Clifford Riley, Army, Clermont County

• Dana L. Robinson-Street, Navy, Franklin County

• Ronald A. Schwachenwald, Army, Lorain County

• Douglas D. Theaker, Navy, Richland County

• E.J. Thomas Jr., Air Force, Franklin County

• Robert J. Wilhelm, Marines, Guernsey County

*Awarded posthumously

Ohio veterans and the general public are invited to attend the induction ceremony Nov. 8 at the Radiant Life Church, 7100 Post Road, Dublin, Ohio. A continental breakfast reception is at 9 a.m. followed by the induction ceremony at 10 a.m.

For more information, call 614-644-0898, email or visit

The class of 2018 was chosen from among 119 nominations. This year’s class joins 854 Ohio veterans who have been inducted since 1992 and represent all eras and branches.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame was established in 1992 by former Gov. George Voinovich to recognize the post-military achievements of outstanding Ohio veterans. Charter members of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 1992 included the six Ohio veterans who were elected president of the United States as well as Medal of Honor recipients from Ohio. Honorees of the past 25 years include astronauts, community volunteers, community leaders, safety officers, veteran advocates and former government officials.

The members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame are honored in a permanent display near the Ohio Statehouse at the Riffe Center, 77 S. High St., Columbus, Ohio.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame is administered by the Ohio Department of Veterans Services in collaboration with the Hall of Fame Executive Committee. Comprised of 13 veteran volunteers, the committee members serve as advisors to the Hall of Fame and their primary purpose is to annually select up to 20 honorees.