Democrats from left, Russ Joseph, Ryan Taylor and Zach Dickerson all interviewed with a party screening committee seeking to fill an unexpired Montgomery County treasurer’s term. Joseph was selected. SUBMITTED

Democrats appoint new county treasurer from field of three

From a field of three Democrats who all lost elections in November, the Montgomery County Democratic Party appointed Russ Joseph to serve out a term as county treasurer.

Joseph, unseated as the county’s appointed clerk of courts by Republican challenger Mike Foley, was picked by the party’s Central Committee on Thursday night to fill the treasurer’s position left vacant following Carolyn Rice’s election to a county commission seat.

MORE: Rice takes oath, first all-women Montgomery County Commission seated

Joseph, who lives in Dayton, began his government career in the treasurer’s office in 2001 directing special projects.

“Russ’ experience in the treasurer’s office along with his extensive leadership roles in the community, including serving as Clerk of Courts, makes him an outstanding choice for treasurer,” said Mark Owens, chair of the Montgomery County Democratic Party.

Along with Joseph, Zach Dickerson, and Ryan Taylor all interviewed Tuesday with the party’s screening committee.

RELATED: Officeholder ousted in November interested in treasurer’s job

Dickerson, who lives in Miamisburg, lost an Ohio House 42nd District race to incumbent Rep. Niraj Antani, R-Miamisburg. Taylor of Butler Twp. lost the Ohio House District 40 race to former county Sheriff Phil Plummer.

For the past 11 years, tax payments had been collected by Rice. In addition to collecting current and delinquent real estate taxes, the treasurer also serves as the county’s chief investment manager, the depository for county agencies and the marketing agent for the sale of county notes and bonds.

“The treasurer’s office serves a vital role in our community, and I am excited to continue the excellent work of former Treasurer Carolyn Rice,” Joseph said.

County commissioners selected Lynn Cooper, the treasurer’s office chief deputy, to serve as interim treasurer until Democrats named the successor to fill Rice’s term which ends in 2020.

MORE: State Rep. Niraj Antani facing challenge from Democrat Zach Dickerson

MORE: Montgomery County clerk race features familiar last names

MORE: WSU lecturer to take on sheriff for state House seat

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.