Did you know? WSU started as branch campus of Miami, Ohio State

Wright State University started off as a small branch of two other Ohio universities.

In 1964, Allyn Hall opened and welcomed 3,203 students to the Dayton campus of Miami University and Ohio State University.

ExploreRELATED: Wright State gets 2 low marks on state report card

The branch campus started off with 55 faculty members and offered general college, science and engineering programs, according to WSU.

The state legislature passed a bill in 1965 making Wright State an independent university, contingent upon enrollment growth, which the university achieved in 1967.

ExploreTWEET: Follow reporter Max Filby on Twitter for more higher ed news

Upon the university becoming independent in 1967, students held mock funerals and read eulogies for the former branch campus, according to WSU.

About the Author