Ohio among states cracking down on distracted driving

Distracted driving could bring an extra $100 fine in Ohio

If drivers were distracted by their handheld electronic devices when they commit the moving violation, the extra fine may be added. Violators would be given the option of attending a distracted driving safety course in lieu of paying the $100 fine.

Related: Texting while driving may lead to higher fines, penalties in Ohio

The stricter penalty would be applied for specific moving violations, including: disobeying traffic lights or signs, speeding or driving too slow, driving on the wrong side of the road, driving left of center, driving the wrong way on a road, failing to stay in your lane, tailgating, failing to use turn signals, letting someone hitch a ride on a bike, sled, skates or coaster, driving on a sidewalk or bike path.

The new law is supported by insurance companies, the Ohio Bicycle Federation and family members who have had loved ones killed by distracted drivers.

Related: Study shows drivers are ‘double distracted’

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.

X