Clark County voters to pick several school board seats in November

Several school boards across Clark County will likely see changes this fall as many have competitive races and several veteran board members aren’t seeking re-election.

School board members play a major role in the finances of the district, deciding how taxpayer money is spent, as well as major policy decisions that affect all students and staff members.

MORE: Four Springfield residents will vie for three commission seats

The Springfield City School Board of Education has two seats on the ballot with three people running.

Incumbents Anita Biles and Wanda Jean Truss are seeking to keep their seats while challenger Carol Dunlap hopes to join the board.

At Northeastern Local, the second largest district in Clark County, three seats are open and two school board members have decided to step down. School Board President Chris James and Vice President Jeff Caivano aren’t running for re-election.

School board member Steve Schwitzgable is running for his seat again. Challengers for the three seats are Keith Brown, John Crankshaw and Jeff Yinger.

Also on the ballot for Northeastern Local School voters is a bond issue. The district wants to build two new pre-k through 12th-grade buildings in the district to replace its aging schools. The bond is for 7.93 mills and would cost the owner of $100,000 home about $25 a month.

WATCH: Northeastern board members debate $100M new school plans

In Enon, Greenon Local also has three open spots with two members not seeking re-election. Board members Becky Hale and Sabrina North aren’t running again while board member Keith Culp will seek re-election. Challengers for the seats are Deena Hardy, Stacey Hundley, R. Jason Moore and Jackie Sheppeard.

Greenon voters recently approved a bond issue to build a new pre-k through 12th-grade building and the elected board members will be responsible for making big decisions on the school’s design.

In New Carlisle, Tecumseh has three seats open and three people running. School Board President Kurt Lewis and members Mert Christmann and Dan Studebaker have decided not to run again this year. Johanna Brents, Sue Martin and Suzanne Slagell have filed to run for those seats.

READ: Springfield schools seeks to give students more attention

Clark-Shawnee also recently passed a bond issue and elected board members will play a large role in deciding what is built. School Board President David DeHart, Vice President Michelle Garrett and Member Judith Pierce are seeking re-election and are unopposed.

Southeastern also has three incumbent board members running unopposed this November — President Tony Entler, Shawn Jackson and Hans Eriksen.

Northwestern has three seats open but only two people running, according to the Clark County Board of Elections. Incumbent Andy Gundolf and newcomer Leigh Taylor will be on the ballot. The board will then have to fill the vacant seat after the election.

Continuing Coverage

The Springfield News-Sun provides the best coverage of local schools. The newspaper digs deep into policies, report cards, bond issues and other important decisions.

About the Author