Move Over law initiative to take place until July 28

The Ohio State Highway Patrol and members of the 6-State Trooper Project will be collaborating to focus on enforcing the Move Over law, which now exists in all 50 states.

This initiative will begin on Sunday, July 22 at 12:01 a.m. and end on Saturday, July 28 at 11:59 p.m., according to a release. The high-visibility enforcement will include state police from Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Ohio.

ExploreOTHER STATE NEWS: Ohio couple buys island in West Virginia $60K

Ohio law requires all drivers to move over to an adjacent lane when approaching any vehicle with flashing or rotating lights parked on the roadside. If moving over isn’t possible due to traffic or weather conditions, or because a second lane doesn’t exist, motorists should slow down and proceed with caution.

“When drivers see any vehicle with flashing or rotating lights parked on the roadside, moving over just isn’t the law, it’s the right thing to do,” said Patrol Superintendent Colonel Paul A. Pride. “When drivers Move Over, they can help protect the lives of everyone who works on or uses Ohio’s roadways.”

ExploreMORE STATE NEWS: Cruiser cam: Troopers rescue Colombian players from I-70 berm

Over the years since 2013, Ohio State Highway Patrol cruisers were involved in 58 crashes that appeared to be related to the Move Over law. These crashes resulted in two deaths of two civilians, and injured 34 civilians and 24 officers. There has also been 14,202 recorded Move Over violation citations.

The 6-State Trooper Project is a multi-state law enforcement partnership aimed at proving combined and coordinated law enforcement and security services in the areas of highway safety, criminal patrol, and intelligence sharing.

Got a tip? Call our monitored 24-hour line, 937-259-2237, or send it to