Photo: Staff
Photo: Staff

Southern Ohio counties eligible for FEMA funding due to February flood damage 

The funds will be provided through the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Public Assistance Program, which repays local governments for eligible storm-related response and recovery efforts. 

President Donald Trump granted Ohio Gov. John Kasich's request for a federal disaster declaration after Kasich issued an emergency proclamation on Feb. 24. 

Local breaking news: shots fired during Verizon store robbery

Local, state, and federal emergency management officials conducted a joint preliminary damage assessment in mid-March, documenting $44 million in damages to area roads, bridges, and public buildings. 

The Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA) will disburse the federal funds upon receipt, and its representatives will meet with local officials to further explain the application process.  

Counties covered in the declaration include: Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Columbiana, Gallia, Hamilton, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington.