Ten Top Women announced

The winners of one of the Miami Valley’s most coveted awards were announced and introduced Sunday afternoon on stage at the Dayton Women’s Fair at the Dayton Airport Expo Center.

The prestigious award is marking its 50th anniversary. The 2012 Ten Top Women, selected by a panel of judges from the community, will be honored on Tuesday, Dec. 4, at a luncheon at the Sinclair Community College Ponitz Center. More than 500 attended the event last year.

“We are so proud to play a part in recognizing these outstanding women for their professional, community and personal achievements,” said Donna Hall, senior vice president of marketing and audience for Cox Media Group Ohio. “The recipients of this award not only inspire us as role models but also make the Miami Valley an even better place to live and work.”

The words spoken by the honorees are always a highlight of the event, as the women share thoughts on how they’ve been inspired and how they have faced significant challenges in their lives. The emcee for this year’s event will be Cheryl McHenry, news anchor for WHIO-TV.

The 2012 Ten Top Women are:

  • Marva Cosby, retired Director, Human Resources, Kodak
  • Nancy J. Duffy, RN, Hemophilia Nurse Coordinator, The Children’s Medical Center
  • Debbie Lieberman, Montgomery County Commissioner
  • Dr. Louise P. (Toni) Moore, Planning Director, Leadership Institute Project, University of Dayton
  • Connie Muncy, Industrial Hygienist, Concurrent Technologies Co.
  • Tina Patterson, Executive Director, Homefull
  • Dr. Katherine Platoni, Chief Psychologist for the U.S. Army Reserve and U.S. Army National Guard
  • Dr. Mary Beth Pringle, Professor of English, Wright State University
  • Nancy Roberson, Attorney at Law, Roberson Law
  • Lori L. Ward, Superintendent, Dayton Public Schools

This year’s judges included Sharon Howard, Director of Marketing/Communications, Dayton Development Coalition and former honoree; Marilyn Klaben, Education Director of The Human Race Theatre; Dave Melin, President, PNC Bank; Don Patterson, Mayor of Kettering; and Col. Pennie Pavlisin, Commander of the 88th Inpatient Operations Squadron at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. A portion of the ticket sales for the event are donated to Newspapers in Education, which promotes literacy and citizenship in the classroom. More than $40,000 has been contributed to that effort since 2006.

Tickets to the Ten Top Women luncheon are $60, including a $10 contribution to Newspapers in Education. Get more information here. Deadline for reservations is Nov. 21.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.