Wright State professor named Family Medicine Educator of the Year

Credit: William Jones

Credit: William Jones

A Wright State University professor received the 2020 Family Medicine Educator of the Year Award from the Ohio Academy of Family Physicians.

Kate Conway graduated from the Boonshoft School of Medicine in 2005 and continues to work at Wright State practicing and teaching family medicine.

>> Needed: Nurses. A lot of them

Conway said that she could not imagine teaching without practicing or the other way around. She is always trying to recruit students to family medicine.

“When I am with patients, I get so excited about our specialty and the power of the primary care physician’s continuity in patients’ lives that I want to go tell someone how amazing this is and why I love what I do,” Conway said. “Student are my witness to the excitement and passion I have for my job. When we come out of a patient’s room together, they will often hear me say, ‘OK, that’s why I love family medicine.’”

Conway has been practicing family medicine for 15 years and has worked in Cleveland as well as in Guatemala.

Lauren Wichman, a family medicine resident working in Cleveland, nominated Conway.

“I nominated Dr. Conway for the Educator of the Year Award because she was a fantastic advisor, mentor and role model to myself and many other students at Wright State University,” said Wichman. “I was able to witness the compassion she has for her patients firsthand and have found myself attempting to emulate her in my interactions with patients.”

>> Yellow Springs senior helps community with face mask class project

The OAFP annually presents the Award to a family medicine educator who meets and exceeds the criteria of being a capable teacher of family medicine, successful administrator/practitioner, productive researcher/scholar and inspiring leader. Candidates also must have 10 years post-residency experience, be actively caring for patients and be a member of OAFP.

About the Author