William Harris is sworn in as Dayton school board president by DPS Treasurer Hiwot Abraha on Tuesday. JEREMY P. KELLEY / STAFF

New member Harris chosen as Dayton school board president

Dayton’s school board unanimously voted Tuesday to install William Harris as board president for 2018, as they had discussed at a special meeting last month.

Harris had been elected in November and was almost immediately appointed to the board to fill the vacancy of Adil Baguirov, who resigned, citing a move out of the school district.

RELATED: DPS focuses on academics, long-term vision

The other school board members who were elected in November — Jocelyn Rhynard, Mohamed Al-Hamdani and Karen Wick-Gagnet — were sworn in Tuesday and took their seats on the board. They replace outgoing board members Joe Lacey, Ron Lee and Hazel Rountree.

Also Tuesday, school board member John McManus, who is halfway through a four-year term, was unanimously chosen as vice president of the school board for 2018.

RELATED: Schools task force cancels meeting after media questions

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.