Mayor elect Nan Whaley is hugged by Dayton city commissioner Joey Williams while Jeff Mims (right) applauds Tuesday night at Democratic headquarters in Dayton. Both Williams and Mims won a seat on the city commission. LISA POWELL / STAFF
Photo: Lisa Powell
Photo: Lisa Powell

Whaley wins Dayton mayor race, Williams and Mims to commission

Nan Whaley has won election as Dayton’s next mayor.

Whaley had 9,091 votes to A.J. Wagner’s 7,029, or 56 percent to 44 percent, with all precincts reporting Tuesday night from the Montgomery County Board of Elections.

The two candidates in the mayoral race expressed very different views of what the city needs.

Whaley says Dayton has been making incremental progress on multiple fronts, such as reducing crime and demolishing blighted houses. She said the city has positioned itself for success.

Wagner, on the other hand, called Dayton “a dying city” due to job loss and struggling neighborhoods. In his campaign, hHe said the city needs major change, including a whole new approach on economic development.

Whaley will begin a four-year term as mayor in January, replacing Gary Leitzell, who finished third in the May runoff vote.

In Dayton’s City Commission race, Joey D. Williams and Jeffrey Mims won election. David K. Greer and David Esrati came in third and fourth respectively.

Williams led with 36.7 percent of the vote, followed by Mims with 30 percent, Greer with 16.6 percent. Esrati had 15.6 percent.

Williams is the only incumbent in the race. The other open seat is the result of Whaley leaving commission to run for mayor.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.