Area players, coach receive All-Ohio football top honors

Valley View’s Collin Genslinger was named first team All-Ohio Division IV. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

caption arrowCaption
Valley View’s Collin Genslinger was named first team All-Ohio Division IV. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

Valley View coach Bob Skidmore and Spartans senior linebacker Logan Hannah, and Kurtis Rutschilling, a senior linebacker from Versailles, received top All-Ohio high school football honors in their respective divisions Monday.

Skidmore was the Division IV coach of the year and Hannah shared the D-IV co-defensive player of the year honor. Rutschilling was the D-V defensive player of the year.

The All-Ohio teams were determined by statewide media panels and coordinated by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

»PHOTO GALLERY: Trotwood-Madison vs. Toledo Central Catholic

»D-IV ALL-OHIO: Valley View, Versailles earn top honors

»PLAYER OF YEAR: Fort Recovery RB Will Homan takes D-VI honor

»SEMI SHOWDOWN: Trotwood-Madison defeats Toledo CC

»FINALS FOUR: Trotwood, Massie, Marion Local, Minster

»MAKING A DIFFERENCE: Trotwood-Madison focused on the positive

»MIKE AND MARC: The boys talk playoff football

»STATE POLL CHAMPS: Trotwood-Madison, Marion Local No. 1 in football

»RELATED: Top 7 all-time, Dayton-area football players

Also named first team All-Ohio were Valley View running back Collin Genslinger and linebacker Stone Day, both seniors. Other first-team D-IV selections were St. Marys Memorial senior offensive lineman Reed Aller, Clinton-Massie senior linebacker Trey Uetrecht and Springfield Shawnee senior linebacker Jack McCrory.

Joining Rutschilling on the D-V first team was Brookville senior running backer Bailey Wallen and Anna senior defensive back Wyatt Bensman.

A longtime Spartans assistant, Skidmore guided Valley View to a 10-0 regular season and 11-1 overall record, losing only to state finalist Clinton-Massie in a D-IV, Region 16 semifinal.

A 6-foot-1, 240-pound linebacker, Hannah shared the player of the year honor with Perry defensive back Jake Reed. Hannah is the program’s all-time career leader in tackles and had more than 150 this season. He also was the Southwestern Buckeye League Southwestern Division defensive player of the year.

Rutschilling, also a senior, led Versailles with 106 tackles, including 36 solos. He had nine stops for loss, three forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and two interceptions. He also was the Midwest Athletic Conference defensive player of the year.

Genslinger overcame early season leg injuries to lead the Spartans in rushing with 1,103 yards and 14 touchdowns. As a junior he had 1,703 rushing yards and 32 TDs.

Wallen had 2,035 yards rushing and 27 TDs in the regular season. A senior, he ranks among the most prolific backs in area and SWBL history, amassing 5,508 career yards rushing and scoring 80 touchdowns.

The offensive players of the year were Girard’s Mark Waid (D-IV) and Tanner Holden of Wheelersburg and Ethan Wright of Akron Manchester (D-V). Jeff Essig of Bethel-Tate was the D-V coach of the year.

The Ohio High School Athletic Association was scheduled to release the Divisions II and III teams Tuesday. The Division I All-Ohio teams and Mr. Football will be announced Wednesday.

About the Author