A-10 continues tradition of sending coaches to bigger jobs

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

caption arrowCaption
Kyle Davis talks about the news of Archie Miller going to Indiana

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

The Atlantic 10 Conference has sent two coaches to the power conferences this month, with Dayton’s Archie Miller headed to Indiana and VCU’s Will Wade on his way to LSU.

The conference has seen good success in its coaches moving on to bigger positions. Here’s a look at some of the current conference schools’ coaches who have made moves upward, since their schools have been in the league:


Oliver Purnell: to Clemson in 2003

Brian Gregory: to Georgia Tech in 2011

Archie Miller: to Indiana in 2017


Mike Jarvis: to St. John’s in 1998


John Calipari: to New Jersey Nets in 1996

Travis Ford: to Oklahoma State in 2008


Tom Penders: to Texas in 1988

Al Skinner: to Boston College in 1997

Jim Harrick: to Georgia in 1999


John Beilein: to West Virginia in 2002

Jerry Wainwright: to DePaul in 2005


Jim O’Brien: to Boson College in 1986


Shaka Smart: to Texas in 2015

Will Wade: to LSU in 2017

About the Author