Two WSU players named to HL all-league teams

Pacher, a 6-foot-10 senior forward, was named second team All-Horizon League, while Vest, a 6-foot-5 senior guard, was voted to the All-Defensive Team.

“AJ and Matt both deserve these honors.” WSU head coach Billy Donlon said. “They’ve had outstanding seasons. Both young men are from the Dayton community and have represented their community with great dignity, leadership, toughness and talent.”

Pacher, a Vandalia native, led WSU in scoring at 10.9 points per game and rebounding (4.9). He averaged 17.5 points and 7.8 rebounds during the current four-game winning streak that enabled the Raiders (18-13, 10-6 HL) to finish in third place and earn a first-round bye in this week’s league tournament.

WSU opens play Friday night at 7 against the winner of Tuesday’s game between No. 7 seed Youngstown State at No. 6 Oakland.

Vest, a Kettering native, has played a key role on a WSU defense that led the Horizon League and ranked in the top 25 nationally by allowing only 62.3 points per game.

Often assigned the responsibility of guarding the other team’s best player, Vest has repeatedly held the league’s top scorers well under their averages. He ranked 10th in the league in steals with 35 while also contributing on the offensive end with 5.7 points per game, including a season-high 16 in a 65-61 victory against Detroit on Feb. 21.

Wisconsin-Green Bay swept top honors with junior guard Keifer Sykes being named Player of the Year, senior center Alec Brown the Defensive Player of the Year and Brian Wardle the Coach of the Year.

The Freshman of the Year is Oakland guard Khalil Felder, and the Sixth Man of the Year went to Cleveland State forward Jon Harris,a Miami University transfer.

The honors are voted on by head coaches, three media selections from each school and sports information directors.

Young advances: Senior forward Jerran Young has advanced in the 2014 State Farm Dark Horse Dunker competition is paired against Eastern Kentucky’s Marcus Lewis in the semifinals.

The winner of the competition will participate in the Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships at the Final Foul live on ESPN.