Crutcher becomes eighth three-time Dayton MVP

Dayton hands out team awards at private banquet

Senior guard Jalen Crutcher became the first three-time winner of the Dayton Flyers team MVP award since Chris Wright on Tuesday when the program held a private team banquet and handed out postseason awards.

Crutcher, who ranks 16th in Dayton history with 1,593 points, won the White-Allen Most Valuable Player Trophy for the third straight season. He shared the award as a junior with Obi Toppin.

Wright shared the White-Allen Trophy with Marcus Johnson as a sophomore and won it by himself as a junior in 2010 and senior in 2011.

Brian Roberts (2005-08), Ryan Perryman (1996-98), Roosevelt Chapman (1982-84), Jim Paxson (1977-79), Donald Smith (1972-74) and Henry Finkel (1963-66) are the other three-time winners of the award.

Here’s a list of the other awards handed out:

Alex Schoen Free-Throw Percentage Award: Crutcher.

John L. MacBeth Scholar-Athlete: Redshirt senior center Jordy Tshimanga.

Dr. George Rau Spirit Award: Walk-ons Camron Greer (two-time winner) and Christian Wilson.

“Shorty” Sharpenter Top Rebounder: Tshimanga.

Chris Daniels Memorial Award for most improved player: Redshirt freshman forward Zimi Nwokeji.

Thomas M. Luppe Memorial Award for first-year player “who best demonstrates the courage, desire and integrity” of Luppe: freshman forward Mustapha Amzil.

Steve McElvene Best Defender Award: Tshimanga and redshirt senior guard Rodney Chatman.

Uhl Family Endowed Scholarship: Freshman guards R.J. Blakney and Koby Brea.

James G. and Purcell S. Palmer Scholarship, which is presented to the Dayton player who best embodies the former Flyer Palmer’s characteristics, on and off the court.: senior guard Ibi Watson.

About the Author