Dayton forward Kendall Pollard dribbles the ball up the floor in the second half against Boise State in the First Four on Wednesday, March 17, 2015, at UD Arena. David Jablonski/Staff

Dayton Flyers could face Mountain West teams in 2020 and 2021 as A-10 announces scheduling partnership

There will be 10 games each season between the two conferences

The games would be part of the Mountain West/Atlantic 10 Challenge Series. The conferences announced the scheduling partnership Thursday. It’s a two-year agreement with an option to extend the deal for two more seasons.

» THROWBACK THURSDAY: Looking back at Sylvester’s perfect night

There will be 10 games in each of the two seasons with each conference hosting five games. That means four A-10 teams and one Mountain West team won’t play in the series each season.

According to an A-10 press release, “Matchups for each year will be determined by the league offices based on a number of factors, including the previous year’s records, NET rankings and team achievements, as well as projected rankings and anticipated strength of teams for the upcoming season. The games will take place in late November and early December of each year, with television and digital rights residing with the host conference.”

» WESTERN MICHIGAN GAME: Photo galleryArchdeacon on Toppin, CrutcherFive takeawaysCunningham ends free-throw slump

Dayton is 8-4 against the Mountain West and has played six of the 11 teams: Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, San Diego State, Utah State and Wyoming. Dayton has never played Nevada, Fresno State, UNLV, Air Force or San Jose State.

In a statement, A-10 Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade said scheduling quality home-and-home series has become increasingly difficult, and this series will bring “nationally-recognized opponents” to A-10 campuses.

“This partnership will add an exciting home game to each of our schools season ticket packages while also providing resume-building opportunities and national exposure of high-interest games,” McGlade said.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.