Dayton Flyers hand out co-MVP awards at team banquet

Dayton celebrates 29-2 regular season

The Dayton Flyers held their team banquet Sunday morning, one day after ending the regular season with a 76-51 victory against George Washington at UD Arena.

Here are the awards they handed out:

White-Allen Most Valuable Player: Jalen Crutcher and Obi Toppin

Dayton’s two leading scorers share the top honor. Toppin averages 20.0 points. Crutcher averages 15.1. Crutcher won the honor last season as well.

Steve McElvene Award: Rodney Chatman and Trey Landers

This “goes to the best defensive player on the team, with no criteria involving statistics, playing time, etc.” It honors the Dayton center who died in 2016 after his redshirt freshman season.

Alex Schoen Memorial Free Throw Trophy: Crutcher

Crutcher is shooting 86.9 percent at the line. Schoen was the captain of the program’s first varsity team.

Chris Daniels Memorial Most Improved Player Award: Landers

This award was renamed after Daniels after his death in 1996. It honors the player “who develops the most over the course of the season, but this is more of a guideline rather than a rule. It’s been about 50-50, improvement over a season vs. improvement from one season to the next.”

“Shorty” Sharpenter Memorial Rebounding Award: Toppin

Toppin leads the team with 7.5 rebounds per game. Sharpenter played for the program from 1926-28. This award has been around since 1979.

James G. & Purcell Scheu Palmer Scholarship: Landers

This is “awarded annually to a men’s basketball player who displays leadership and has shown tremendous growth both on the court and off the court and has a high ceiling for achievement after his time at the University of Dayton.”

Uhl Endowed Family Scholarship: Jordy Tshimanga

This fund, established in 2003, "was created to endow scholarships for one or more members of the men's basketball team. The Uhl Family wishes the award to be made to members of the men's basketball team who exemplifies the motto: Learn, Lead and Serve and who best exemplifies the qualities of good sportsmanship and excellent character."

John L. Macbeth Memorial Scholar Athlete: Tshimanga

The player who has a minimum of four semesters of classwork and the best cumulative GPA wins this award. It honors “a prominent Dayton businessman who was close to the program. The award is sponsored by his wife and family. It has been presented since 1959.”

Dr. George Rau Spirit Award: Ryan Mikesell

This award honors Dayton’s team physician from 1950-72 and is given “to the player who displays true team spirit on and off the court.

Thomas M. Luppe Memorial Award: Ibi Watson

This award goes to the “first-year basketball player who demonstrates the courage, desire and moral integrity possessed by Tom Luppe, a young athlete who died while playing in a freshman game for the Flyers in 1963.”

About the Author