Dayton Flyers legends inducted into Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame

Johnny Davis, Ann Meyers honored in Columbus

Two University of Dayton basketball greats were inducted into the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame on Saturday in Columbus.

Johnny Davis, who scored 1,562 points (1973-76), and Ann Meyers, a three-time All-American who still holds the school record for points (2,672, 1976-80), were honored during a ceremony in Columbus.

This is the 12th class for the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame. The first was inducted in 2006. Tom Blackburn, Don Donoher, Bucky Bockhorn, Henry Finkel, Don May, Jim Paxson, Don Meineke and Bill Uhl are other Dayton men’s basketball players in the hall.

Three Dayton teams have been honored in past classes: the 1962 and 1968 men’s team and the 1980 women’s team.

Former Wittenberg coach Bob Hamilton was another local legend honored in the 2017 class.

About the Author