Obi Toppin enjoys SportsCenter moment vs. Rhode Island
Photo: David Jablonski - Staff Writer
Photo: David Jablonski - Staff Writer

Dayton’s Obi Toppin adds to growing trophy collection

The Dayton Flyers star won the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year award on Tuesday. It’s named after the former Utah Jazz star who’s in the Basketball Hall of Fame.

» MORE ON FLYERS: Four reasons they could have won it all

“I genuinely respect Obi Toppin and the work he has put in to achieve the results we all saw this season,” Malone said. “I enjoy watching college basketball because the athletes give their all and take no possessions off – Obi is a perfect example of that. With his work ethic and athleticism, I’m excited to see him continue to further his game.”

Toppin joins the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame’s “Starting Five” with this honor. Here are the other players in that group:

» KEEPING TRACK: A guide to Toppin’s many awards

Payton Pritchard (Oregon): Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award.

Myles Powell (Seton Hall): Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award.

Saddiq Bey (Villanova): Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award.

Luka Garza (Iowa): Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.