FILE - In this May 29, 2016, file photo, James Hinchcliffe, of Canada, leads the field into the first turn on the start of the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis. Indianapolis Motor Speedway president Doug Boles had a very real fear following last year’s 100th edition of the Indy 500: That many in the record-setting crowd packing his track last May would decide to be “101 and done.” Instead, the milestone appears to have given the Greatest Spectacle in Racing a lasting bump heading into next weekend’s running. (AP Photo/R Brent Smith, File)

5 drivers to watch in 101st Indy 500

To date, 69 different drivers have won the Indianapolis 500. But two names come to mind first and foremost when it comes to the Greatest Spectacle in Racing – Borg and Warner. The famed trophy, named after the Borg-Warner Automotive Company that commissioned the hardware in 1935, is up for grabs Sunday.

Here are five drivers to watch when the green flag drops on the 101st running of the Indy 500 (noon, ABC):

Scott Dixon

It’s been an eventful week for Dixon, who starts from the pole for the third time in his career. Hours after earning the right to lead the 33-car field to the green flag he was robbed while waiting in a Taco Bell drive-thru. The four-time Verizon IndyCar Series champion was a blur posting the fastest four-lap qualifying speed of 232.164 mph last Sunday. That’s the fastest four-lap effort since Arie Luyendyk’s 236.986 in 1996. Dixon has finished eighth or better in nine of his last 11 Indy 500 races. In his starts from the pole, Dixon finished fourth in 2015 and won in 2008. The driver for Chip Ganassi Racing also has a pair of runner-up finishes (2007, 20012).

Fernando Alonso

The Spaniard and two-time Formula One world champion gave up the glitz and glamor of the Monaco Grand Prix to spend his weekend in Indiana. Few rookie appearances have generated as much buzz as Alonso’s Indy 500 appearance. The Andretti Autosport driver has impressed early in picking up the oval circuit. But can he become the 11th F1 driver to win the Indy 500? Alonso, driving for Andretti Autosport, starts fifth in the middle of Row 2 with a qualifying average of 231.300 mph.

Alexander Rossi

The Andretti Autosport driver is out to prove last year’s fuel-mileage win as a rookie was no fluke. Despite making history last year as the 10th rookie to win the Indy 500 (the first since Helio Castroneves in 2000), it might not be on his side this time around the historic oval. The last back-to-back winner was Castroneves in 2000 and 2001. In all, five drivers have won consecutive Indy 500s (Wilbur Shaw, Mauri Rose, Bill Vukovich, Al Unser and Castroneves). Rossi starts third on the outside of Row 1 after his four-lap qualifying average of 231.487 mph.

Marco Andretti

What’s an Indianapolis 500 without an Andretti? The family has 72 starts between five family members, including 12 from Marco, and one win to show for it with Mario’s victory in 1969. Andretti finished 13th last year to break a streak of four straight top-six finishes. His best – and most heartbreaking – finish was second as a rookie in 2006 when winner Sam Hornish Jr. passed Andretti at the line and beat him by 0.064 seconds. Andretti starts eighth in the middle of Row 3 with a qualifying average of 230.474.

Helio Castroneves

The three-time winner had his worst qualifying effort in 17 attempts and sits 19th on the grid. It’s just the fourth time he’s started outside the top 10. Still, Castroneves has the experience to maneuver his Team Penske car to the front of the pack and join A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser as the only four time winners. Until this year, Castroneves’ worst starting position was 16th in 2001. He finished 17th.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.