The floor is ready for the NCAA Tournament First Four at UD Arena. TY GREENLEES / STAFF
Photo: Ty Greenlees
Photo: Ty Greenlees

First Four staying at UD Arena through 2022

NCAA awards Dayton with games it has hosted since their inception


» UD bids for First Four through 2022

» Dayton hosts tournament for 17 straight year

» Explore UD Arena’s tournament history

"We are proud that the University of Dayton, The Big Hoopla, and our community partners will continue to be the tip-off for the NCAA Men's Basketball Championship," UD Vice-President and Director of Athletics Neil Sullivan said in a press release. "We appreciate that the NCAA has entrusted all of us in the Dayton region with this responsibility. It is not something that we take lightly. As in the past, we will continue to deliver capacity crowds and a premier championship experience for teams, tournament officials, fans, visiting media and broadcast partners. It's great that UD Arena will continue to be part of one of the nation's premier sporting events."

First Four announcement

UD Arena was not successful its bid to host games in the first or second rounds in 2021 or 2022. Columbus will host the first and second rounds in 2019 at Nationwide Arena. Cincinnati will host the first and second rounds at U.S. Bank Arena in 2022.

UD has played host to the First Four since 2011. Prior to that, the opening-round game of the NCAA men’s basketball tournament, or play-in game, was played at UD Arena every season from 2001-10. Dayton sought a 10-year commitment from the NCAA in 2013, but the NCAA decided against a long-term commitment.

Dayton won a three-year bid in 2014, keeping the First Four through 2018. It bid last August to host the games from 2019-22. It also bid at that time to host games in the first and second rounds in 2021 and 2022.

Three other cities bid for the First Four: Evansville, Ind.; Detroit; and Hershey, Pa.

Dayton last hosted games in the first and second rounds in 2013. UD Arena has host 117 NCAA tournament games, more than any other venue. With 20 games in the next five seasons, that number will grow to 137.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.