Girls basketball coaching changes for 2017-18

The following are new girls high school basketball coaches. The girls season opens on Friday. The boys begin their season on Friday, Dec. 1.

Chaminade Julienne: Randy Duff resigned after 15 highly successful seasons at Miami Valley to succeed Mandy Myers at CJ. Duff was twice selected as the Southwest District D-IV coach of the year, nine times a District 15 coach of the year and seven times the Metro Buckeye Conference coach of the year. Among his Eagles assistants is former CJ standout Samarie Walker.

Myers initially had success at CJ and guided the Eagles into the D-II state final four in 2013. But CJ hasn’t had a winning season since.

»ALTER: Girls basketball preview

»BOTKINS: Girls basketball preview

»BRADFORD: Girls basketball preview

»BUTLER: Girls basketball preview

»CARLISLE: Girls basketball preview

»CEDARVILLE: Girls basketball preview

»CJ: Girls basketball preview

»DELPHOS SJ’S: Girls basketball preview

»DUNBAR: Girls basketball preview

»FAIRMONT: Girls basketball preview

Delphos St. John's: Nate Stant takes over as just the fifth head coach in the 43 years of the program, which has won small-school five state titles. He succeeds Dan "Beeze" Grothouse, who compiled a 393-252 combined record in 28 seasons.

Emmanuel Christian: Jon Froelich succeeds Steve Roe, who resigned to succeed Randy Duff at Miami Valley. Froelich is director of development at the Springfield academy.

Fenwick: Scott Dalton was promoted to succeed John Rossi, resigned to succeed Leah Sams at Franklin. Dalton previously was Middletown's girls head coach for seven seasons.

Franklin: Rossi resigned at Fenwick to succeed Sams. Rossi has won 276 career games in 19 seasons, mostly at Madison and the past three seasons at Fenwick.

Graham: Randy Tyler resigned at Fairlawn after four seasons to succeed Steve Flora.

Indian Lake: Nathaniel Tennant was promoted to succeed Nick Tucci.

Kenton Ridge: Matt McCurdy resigned at Ben Logan after one season to succeed Ed Foulk. The Cougars were a D-II power during Foulk's 33 seasons, setting numerous program, state and even national scoring records. His 619-176 career record ranked 10th best in the state when he retired from coaching.

Miami Valley: Steve Roe succeeds Randy Duff, who resigned after 15 to succeed Mandy Myers at CJ. Roe previously was the girls coach of Springfield Emmanuel Christian.

Mississinawa Valley: Vance Venesky succeeds John Hershey. New to the area, Venesky previously was an assistant on D-I state title teams at Twinsburg.

National Trail: Michael Paige succeeds Troy Ferguson, who resigned after 10 seasons.

Oakwood: Former Stebbins boys basketball coach Jeremey Finn succeeds Adam Woessner. Finn guided the Stebbins boys from 2009-16.

Sidney: Lauren Stefancin succeeds Megan Mummey, who resigned after a celebrated six-season run with the Yellow Jackets. It's the first head coaching position for Stefancin, who at 22 is likely the youngest area head coach. A mentor native, she played one season at Capital University.

Wayne: Travis Trice resigned as Wayne's highly successful boys coach to succeed Sonya Miller, who resigned.

Xenia: Longtime boys and girls assistant Jamie Hand (19 years) was promoted to succeed Kyle Gray. Hand coached on the boys side for nine years and was an assistant to Gray the last two seasons.

About the Author