Horizon League adds 12th member, expands to seventh state

Horizon League commissioner Jon LeCrone, a native of Vandalia, is one of the longest-serving commissioners in college sports.

Robert Morris gives conference programs in seven states

The Horizon League announced the addition of Robert Morris University on Monday, bringing the total number of schools in the conference to 12. It will become an official member on July 1.

» ARCHDEACON: Wright State’s Jaylon Hall says, ‘I was explaining my pain’

The Colonials, who had competed in the Northeast Conference since 1988, will compete in men’s and women’s soccer, volleyball, women’s cross country and indoor and outdoor track & field, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s golf and softball.

"We are excited to welcome Robert Morris University to the Horizon League family," Horizon League Commissioner Jonathan B. LeCrone said in a press release. "The Colonials align with the Horizon League's mission, vision and core values. Their addition brings competitive potential, especially in men's basketball, the engaged and vital communities of Moon Township and Greater Pittsburgh, and membership diversity. Their addition positions the Horizon League perfectly for the future."

» SOFTBALL: Two Raiders find new home

The Robert Morris men’s basketball team finished 20-14 last season and ranked 203rd in the NCAA Evaluation Tool. That put it above eight Horizon League teams. It won the NEC tournament and would have played in the NCAA tournament for the fourth time since 2009 if it had not been cancelled by the coronavirus pandemic.

The Robert Morris women’s basketball team has played in the NCAA tournament seven times in the last 14 seasons.

Robert Morris is located just northwest of downtown Pittsburgh. The Horizon League now has schools in seven states: Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky and Pennsylvania.

In Other News