Dayton against Duquesne on Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2018, at UD Arena.
Photo: David Jablonski - Staff Writer
Photo: David Jablonski - Staff Writer

A-10 names Dayton’s Shauna Green coach of the year

Flyers are 22-5 and have No. 1 seed in conference tournament

Green led the Flyers (22-5) to the regular-season title for the second season in a row. The season included a 16-game winning streak.

» TOURNEY PREVIEW: Flyers seek second straight title in Richmond

"Being named Coach of the Year is an honor for Shauna and the entire women's basketball program," Dayton Athletic Director Neil Sullivan said in a statement. "Shauna is not about individual accolades, but this recognition reflects her leadership and commitment to excellence. We are proud of Shauna, her staff, and the entire team."

Dayton senior Jenna Burdette made the A-10 first team for the first time after being a second-team selection last season. JaVonna Layfield and Jayla Scaife made the second team.

The player of the year was George Mason’s Natalie Butler. Fordham’s G’mrice Davis won the defensive player of the year award. Richmond’s  Micaela Parson was named most improved player. George Washington’s Kelli Prange was named sixth woman of the year.