Maddie Downing of Tri-Village snaps a rebound away from Covington s Lauren Christian. Tri-Village defeated visiting Covington 44-35 in a girls high school basketball game on Thursday, Jan. 10, 2019. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

New 12-team high school athletic conference to debut in 2021-22

A new high school athletic conference made up of teams from the Cross Country Conference and two teams from the Southwestern Buckeye League will begin play in 2021-22.

The Western Ohio Athletic Conference announced its members on Monday — Ansonia, Arcanum, Bradford, Franklin Monroe, Mississinawa Valley, National Trail, Newton, Tri-County North, Tri-Village and Twin Valley South from the CCC and Dixe and Preble Shawnee from the SWBL.

»RELATED: High school sports landscape continues to shift

In April, a new eight-team league was formed with Bethel, Covington and Miami East from the CCC, Milton-Union and Northridge from the SWBL, Troy Christian from the Metro Buckeye Conference and Riverside from the Northwest Central Conference. It will also debut in 2021-22.newt

»RELATED: Revival of Miami Valley League a nod to history, tradition

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.